about

pete holds a bachelor of fine arts, major in photography (’12) from the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design.

pete has lived and shot in Halifax, Vancouver, and Havana.

pete  is currently getting rad in Toronto.

pete is available for your next editorial, commercial, or portrait shoot.

My personal work, the senior dog photo series Old Faithful and most recently Fat Cats, have both gone viral and have been featured online and in print in popular entertainment and design media outlets worldwide such as Buzzfeed, Bored Panda, Huffington Post, Esquire, Fast Company, Design Taxi, ABC, PBS, CBC, Metro UK, The Daily Mail, Il Repubblica, International Business Times, Toronto Life, the Toronto Star, Mashable, Distractify, and Petapixel to name a few.  Last year Old Faithful was published by the American publishing house HarperCollins, and I am currently shopping Fat Cats to publishers.  I am represented by the New York based literary agency InkWell Management.

The Book OLD FAITHFUL: Dogs of a Certain Age has been published by the American publishing house HarperCollins.  You can order here in the US, UK, or CANADA.  Pete is represented by the US literary agency InkWell Management.

 

Be sure to look at the facebook page for extra content about each dog and links to foreign posts as well.  Please follow on the facebook page which is the main community hub for the project, a place where people share their own experiences with senior dogs.

OLD FAITHFUL:

Bored Panda http://www.boredpanda.com/old-dog-portrait-photography-old-faithful-pete-thorne/

PetaPixel http://petapixel.com/2014/10/21/old-faithful-studio-portraits-really-old-dogs/

Daily Mail UK/US http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2836037/Who-says-aging-ruff-Captivating-photos-dogs-years-lives-posing-majestic-portraits.html

Mother Nature Network http://www.mnn.com/family/pets/blogs/old-faithful-dogs-get-their-moment-in-the-sun

Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/10/24/old-faithful-photo-project_n_6030934.html

BuzzFeed http://www.buzzfeed.com/richardhjames/a-photographer-is-taking-the-most-adorable-and-touching-pict

Mashable http://mashable.com/2014/10/22/old-dogs-photo-series/

ABC http://abc7.com/pets/photographer-turns-older-dog-photos-into-beautiful-portraits/363591/

One Green Planet http://www.onegreenplanet.org/news/photographer-immortalizes-the-images-of-elderly-dogs-a-tribute-to-lifelong-friends/

Design Taxi http://designtaxi.com/news/370196/Heartwarming-Soulful-Portraits-Of-Very-Old-Dogs/?interstital_shown=1

Fast Company Design http://www.fastcodesign.com/3037482/pet-week/13-photos-that-prove-even-old-dogs-are-cute

FAT CATS:

 

BuzzFeed 500k+ views    https://www.buzzfeed.com/laurenstrapagiel/phat-cats?utm_term=.mh6lwxllzy#.iq3bqKbb2j

ABC7 (NY,LA,CHI,etc) 100k views   http://abc7.com/pets/look-at-these-chubby-kitties/1524689/

ABC FB VIDEOhttps://www.facebook.com/ABC7/videos/10153880204287452/

Huffington Post   http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/photographers-photos-of-adorably-plump-cats-are-so-full-of-cuteness_us_57ee8e0fe4b082aad9baf5b5

Metro UK    http://metro.co.uk/2016/09/23/man-who-photographs-fat-cats-for-a-living-is-giving-us-some-serious-job-envy-6147093/

Bored Panda     http://www.boredpanda.com/i-photograph-fat-cats/

Design Taxi    http://designtaxi.com/news/388846/Chubby-Felines-Take-Charge-In-Adorable-Fat-Cats-Series/

Fast Company   https://www.fastcodesign.com/3064089/exposure/the-adorable-majesty-of-morbidly-obese-cats

Laughing Squid   http://laughingsquid.com/fat-cats-large-and-in-charge-a-sweet-portrait-book-that-captures-the-lovability-of-portly-felines/

Feature Shoot   http://www.featureshoot.com/?s=fat+cats

Toronto Life   http://torontolife.com/culture/art/pete-thorne-fat-cats-photo-essay/

Little Things.com http://www.littlethings.com/fat-cats-peter-horne/

Flavorwire   http://flavorwire.com/591170/adorable-photos-of-squishable-fat-cats

UFUNK   http://www.ufunk.net/en/photos/fat-cats/

The Phoblographer   http://www.thephoblographer.com/2016/09/21/fat-cat-photo-project-showcases-heartwarming-side-chubby-feline-friends/